Freemuse Awards


The Freemuse Award

Freemuse Award 2013
Freemuse Award 2013 is given to Festival au Désert, which defends freedom of musical expression in spite of attempts to silence all music in Mali
06 February 2013
Freemuse Award 2011: Ramy Essam honoured in Stockholm
On 21 November 2011 the Egyptian singer Ramy Essam received the Freemuse Award 2011 at a ceremony in Södra Teatern in Stockholm, Sweden
21 November 2011
Freemuse Award 2011
Egyptian singer Ramy Essam who provided the soundtrack for the Arab Spring at Tahrir Square will receive the Freemuse Award 2011 at a ceremony in Sweden
25 October 2011
Freemuse Award 2010: Winners honoured in London
The joint winners of the Freemuse Award 2010, Mahsa Vahdat and Ferhat Tunç, gave a short and impressive performance at the award ceremony in London
29 March 2010
Freemuse Award winners 2010: Mahsa Vahdat and Ferhat Tunç
Award ceremony held in London on 25 March 2010 in collaboration with Index on Censorship
22 March 2010
Freemuse Award 2009: video report and interview from Stockholm
Video interview with Tao Rodriquez-Seeger who received the Freemuse Award on his grandfather’s behalf on 3 March 2009
07 March 2009
Freemuse Award 2009
Singer, songwriter, activist, environmentalist, and peace advocate Pete Seeger receives the Freemuse Award 2009
26 February 2009
Freemuse Award to Tiken Jah Fakoly
The first Freemuse Award is given to Tiken Jah Fakoly from Côte d’Ivoire – an outspoken reggae singer who has tirelessly denounced political corruption.
20 August 2008
Freemuse Award statuette created by world-renowned glass artist
World-renowned Swedish glass designer Göran Wärff has created the Freemuse Award which is presented for the first time ever in Dublin on 23 August 2008
18 August 2008
Freemuse Award announcement at Music Freedom Day 2008
Announcement of the first Freemuse Award winner: Tiken Jah Fakoly from Côte d’Ivoire
03 March 2008
Freemuse Award 2008
A Freemuse Award will be presented for the first time in 2008. The first person to recieve the award will be announced on the Music Freedom Day, 3 March 2008
26 November 2007

Click to read about the 2010 award winners: Ferhat Tunc and Mahsa Verdat